Criminal Defense


Hit and Run

Nevada law is very specific on what steps you have to take when you are involved in a car accident, whether it involved property damage or personal injuries. You will need to provide your name, address, vehicle registration, insurance, and driver’s license. Leaving the scene of an accident that results in only property damage is a misdemeanor. Many times, law enforcement will attempt to make contact with you by leaving an informational card at your residence and/or mailing you a letter. If you fail to contact the officer a warrant and/or arrest may be forthcoming.

If the incident involved injuries, the situation can be very serious and although law enforcement’s process is the same, they are likely to be much more aggressive in their pursuit of you. It is important that you contact an attorney, right away, prior to speaking with law enforcement so that we can help to first determine the extent of the injures to the other party. In situations such as this, remember your favorite cop show! You have the right to remain silent, use it, and call us immediately.

Driving Under The influence

When facing a DUI in Nevada, whether it is for alcohol or drugs, it is important to know that there are two aspects to defending it. First, there is the criminal case where you may avoid a conviction even in situations where you were arrested and have a BAC. over the legal .08 limit. Second, you must also contend with losing your Nevada driver’s license privileges. The time frame depends on many factors, including whether you submitted to a blood test or breath test voluntarily or not. It is important to speak with a criminal defense lawyer soon after you are released from custody so that you know the necessary steps to take to allow you to continue driving. In many cases your driver’s license will be revoked within 7 calendar days!

Reckless Driving

Nevada law defines reckless driving as: (1) driving a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property; (2) driving a vehicle in an unauthorized speed contest on a public highway; or (3) organizing an unauthorized speed contest on a public highway. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor criminal matter that carries a fine of $250 to $1000 as well as eight (8) demerit points on your Nevada Driver’s License (only 12 per year are allowed). You can even be arrested and taken to jail if law enforcement so wishes. In the vast majority of reckless driving cases we handle, our firm is able to reduce the demerit points to 1 or 2. There is also the possibility the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles will allow you to complete traffic school in order to fully erase the 1 or 2 points left on your record. No matter what reduction our firm is able to negotiate, your insurance rates will not increase nearly as much compared to having an 8-point violation on your record! In fact, some insurance companies will drop their insured client if a reckless driving conviction enters against them. It is extremely beneficial to contact a lawyer when facing such a serious traffic ticket.